If you need assistance, please call 503-332-1289

The New Portland Home Energy Score

Thursday, October 19, 2017   /   by Daniel McDuffee

The New Portland Home Energy Score

Residential Energy Performance Rating

If you are a homeowner in the Portland metro area you may have heard that Oregon passed a law requiring home sellers to get a home energy assessment before selling their home. Fortunately, this law doesn’t take effect until January 1, 2018. If you are thinking of selling your home next year you might be curious how this could affect you. Below are some important things to know about this new requirement.

Who does this new law affect?

The home energy score is only required for homeowners in the city of Portland (Multnomah County). Other counties are not currently required to have the energy score assessment. Homeowners only have to have an assessment done if they are listing their home for sale, so until you go to sell this will not affect you. To find out if your home must have a mandatory home energy score go to PortlandMaps.com and look at jurisdiction for your address. If Portland is listed as the city, you have to get a home energy score before selling.

What else should I know about the home energy score?

Home energy scores are only valid if obtained from a licensed “home energy assessor.”  The score will be determined by the energy consumption and efficiency of your home relative to other homes in the area. The assessor will also make recommendations for ways to improve your home energy score and advise you on tax credits available with those upgrades. Regardless of your home energy score, you are not required to make any changes to your home - it is just an information point for potential buyers. Here is a sample of a home energy score:


Once you receive a home energy score you must ensure that your Realtor includes the score on all online advertisements for the home. You must also have a paper copy of the home energy score report in the home. Your home energy score is good for two years. If your home doesn’t sell within two years of listing you must get a new home energy score.

What happens if you place your home for sale without a home energy score? Upon the first violation, the Director may issue a written warning notice to the entity or person describing the violation and steps required to comply. If the violation is not remedied within 90 calendar days after issue of written warning notice, the Director may assess a civil penalty of up to $500. For every subsequent 180-day period during which the violation continues, the Director may assess additional civil penalties of up to $500.

Additional thoughts

If you are considering selling your home, it may be beneficial to schedule a home energy score assessment well in advance. As of right now, there is a waiting period due to lack of qualified energy score assessors. The city of Portland plans to have more assessors trained by 2018, but there is no guarantee that the waiting period will not increase.

For more information about the home energy score program, visit:


Premiere Property Group, LLC - McDuffee Property Group
Jan A McDuffee
5000 SW Meadows Rd, Ste 150
Lake Oswego, OR 97035

The content relating to real estate for sale on this web site comes in part from the IDX program of the RMLS(TM) of Portland, Oregon. Real estate listings held by brokerage firms other than David McDuffee - McDuffee Property Group / Premiere Property Group, LLC are marked with the RMLS(TM) logo, and detailed information about these properties includes the names of the listing brokers. Listing content is copyright © RMLS(TM), Portland, Oregon.

All information provided is deemed reliable but is not guaranteed and should be independently verified. This content last updated 12/7/2021 9:18 AM CST. Some properties which appear for sale on this web site may subsequently have sold or may no longer be available.

This site powered by CINC: www.cincpro.com